Page 2 of 2

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:08 pm
by W6UV
Here's a screenshot of the whole 6 MHz. Setting the S2's BW to 6 MHZ works, but everything is noisier than when it's set to 1.5 MHz.

@Paul: Yes, this also happens with FDM-SW2.

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:14 pm
by Simon G4ELI
W6UV wrote:
Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:08 pm
Here's a screenshot of the whole 6 MHz. Setting the S2's BW to 6 MHZ works, but everything is noisier than when it's set to 1.5 MHz.

@Paul: Yes, this also happens with FDM-SW2.
I think your problem is the *very* strong MW signals. To receive properly above 2MHz you may need a HPF.

Please adjust the display so the peaks of the strongest signals are visible, at present they are cut off.

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:29 pm
by Simon G4ELI
Also,

A difference between the 6MHz and 1.5MHz bandwidths will be ~12dB less dynamic range with 6MHz compared with 1.5MHz. This may be the problem - those MW signals appear to cause you some serious problems.

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Posted: Fri Jan 01, 2021 11:00 pm
by KarapuZ
So, I have a similar problem when increasing the bandwidth of the Elad S2 over 768 kHz. The problem manifested itself on the new ASUS ROG Strix G GL731GT-H7118T notebook (Windows 10 Home). In addition to the Console, the problem is also in the HDSDR programs and in the native program from Elad. It seems to me that this is not an overload of the ADC, since on my old Lenovo laptop a similar configuration of the receive path works correctly in all available bandwidths of this receiver.

Danila.

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Posted: Sat Jan 02, 2021 10:21 am
by Simon G4ELI
Use a different USB port. Switch on the PSU.

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Posted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 8:09 pm
by KarapuZ
Unfortunately, changing the USB ports, as well as supplying additional power through the USB hub did not solve the problem.