2021 is dedicated to the user - adding all the features an advanced user needs.

Elad S3 & Data Analyser

Moderator: NN4F

MikeF
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 6:10 am

Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#1

Unread post by MikeF »

I'm having a problem analysing IQ files with my S3. It is a bit of a random problem as occasionally it's fine and then another time it is as per the screenshots.
This worked fine for a couple of days when I first got the S3 so not sure what’s gone wrong. I have tried in both 24MHz and 12MHZ spetrum widths.
I have attached some grabs of the problem. They are my SDRC waterfall, my recording settings, Analyser (with the same recording) and my Analyser settings. As you can see, the analysed file is very different to the SDRC waterfall.
Snap5.png
Snap4.png
Screenshot-2021-01-13-061151.jpeg
Screenshot-2021-01-13-061142.jpeg
It may well be something I’ve done inadvertently but I’m blowed if I can think what.

Many thanks for your time.

Best wishes,

Mike

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#2

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

In the Analyser look at the ribbon bar and toggle Contrast - it's gone off screen.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

MikeF
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 6:10 am

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#3

Unread post by MikeF »

No it's not the contrast Simon. In fact I have just tried to replay an IQ file straight into SDRC (avoiding Analyser) and I get the same thing, so it must be something in the recording process.

Mike

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#4

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

OK, I don't think you've actually stated what the problem is?

To me this is fine, remember the vertical axis (time) is not the same in the analyser & console images.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

MikeF
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 6:10 am

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#5

Unread post by MikeF »

I'm uploading a couple of files to Dropbox for you to try if that's OK. Can I send details to your email when uploaded?
Thanks
Mike

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#6

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

Mike,

I suggest in the Analyser set lines/second to the same value you have in Console - for example 20 or 40.

Prod me at simon@sdr-radio.com with the Dropbox links.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

MikeF
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 6:10 am

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#7

Unread post by MikeF »

Simon, I *think* you should have the link now. Not used Dropbox before so I hope it's got to you.
Re. Analyser set lines/second: I only have the option to set from 0.01 to 10. In SDRC the options are 1-100

Mike

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#8

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

No email received.

Don't use Dropbox to send the link, send with normal e-mail client. Dropbox tries to be too clever.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

MikeF
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 6:10 am

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#9

Unread post by MikeF »

Email sent

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Elad S3 & Data Analyser

#10

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

Mike,

The file you sent me plays back and look just like the Analyser display, albeit only 40 seconds of data.

The Console window also looks OK but I think I'm seeing a bit of tropo?

Anyway, make another recording, say 5 minutes and repeat the exercise.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

Post Reply