Audio clipping problem

SpE

Audio clipping problem

Unread post by SpE »

I am experiencing what sounds like low frequency audio clipping with crackling and popping in the audio.

It's evident when listening to either HF or the medium wave and FM broadcast band and in most if not all modes and bandwidths.

I have tried playing with the equaliser and reducing low frequencies, reducing the audio level, reducing RF gain etc but I can't eliminate it.

I have recently changed from a HP Pavillion which I've been using for 2 years without any issues, over to an Acer Swift 5. It is running Windows 11. I am running the latest beta version of SDR Console. I'm also using SDRuno but haven't had the problem with this.

I have uploaded a 30 second video done with my phone to demonstrate the problem. When I tried using the SDR Console video recorder, I was surprised to find the recorded video had perfect audio upon playback.

Any ideas would be gratefully appreciated. Thanks!

Dave
Attachments
VID_20220324_223526.mp4
(50.63 MiB) Downloaded 53 times

jdow

Re: Audio clipping problem

Unread post by jdow »

The video is useless. You cut important information off the screen. Use SDRC's built in recording tool. If that does not show the ticking then the issue very likely is within the computer's sound system. Gain is not going to fix it. Turn off all special effects on your sound card.

{^_^}

Simon G4ELI

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

Hi,

As jdow wrote, mobile phone videos are useless I'm afraid. Let's start with a screenshot, also look at the equaliser (see attachment).
Attachments
Screenshot-2022-03-24-123430.jpeg
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

SpE

Unread post by SpE »

Here is a screenshot. I did try adjusting various settings in the equaliser. I have turned off audio enhancements. No change.