2021 is dedicated to the user - adding all the features an advanced user needs.

SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

kb2fx
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 2:10 pm

SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

#1

Unread post by kb2fx »

Greetings-

I have SDR Server 3.0.25 running at our club base station serving a SDR Play RSP1A. The system is fully functional on the LAN.
Remote access is possible with SDR Console from the outside world (internet) with the radio definition being manually configured to the IP address and port. Operates well.
Enabling "On Air" does not allow V3 to recognize the station, or select/connect from the list of servers when browsing the list. The site annunciate's the "WB2ELW Cannot access 72.75.225.32 port 50101 ..." message.

I have included a snippet of the log file below. Note at 2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Sent 493 bytes to 81.174.138.141:50199 and
2020-12-09 12:29:37, OnAir> On-Air Reading failed, COnAirConnection::SelectRead(), Select error, timeout after 10 seconds

Port 50101 is enabled and open to the internet as I can access remotely from Console. Port scan verifies.
LAN DNS is also operational., but just as a check, I replaced the On Air Server address with the IP 81.174.138.141 just as a check. Same result.

It looks like Console (with manual IP configured) can access Server, but sdrserver.com cannot. Please advise.
Thank you,
Mike KB2FX

<SDRRadioV3 xml:lang="EN"><OnAir upload_code="WelcomeV3"><format>1.0</format><name>WB2ELW</name><address></address><port>50101</port><lat></lat><lon></lon><homepage></homepage><antenna></antenna><location></location><comment></comment><version>Version 3.0.25 build 2012</version><default_password></default_password><default_username></default_username><Instance><Recording>0</Recording><Radio>SDR-IQ, SDRPlay RSP1A</Radio><Bandwidth></Bandwidth><Frequency></Frequency><Index>Idle</Index><TimeOn></TimeOn><Mode></Mode><Time></Time><UserName></UserName><UserAddress></UserAddress><UserLocation></UserLocation></Instance></OnAir></SDRRadioV3>
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Data ............: 0A-44-40-38-E6-91-8E-5B...
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Size (bytes) ....: 665
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Compress flags ..: 5
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Compressed ......: 481
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Update index ....: 0
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Connecting to 81.174.138.141:50199, status = OK
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Socket option TCP_NODELAY ...: 1
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air SO_RCVBUF .....: 1048576
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air SO_SNDBUF .....: 1048576
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air SO_RCVTIMEO ...: 5000 (milliseconds)
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air SO_SNDTIMEO ...: 5000 (milliseconds)
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air -
2020-12-09 12:29:27, OnAir> On-Air Sent 493 bytes to 81.174.138.141:50199
2020-12-09 12:29:37, OnAir> On-Air Reading failed, COnAirConnection::SelectRead(), Select error, timeout after 10 seconds
2020-12-09 12:29:37, OnAir> On-Air
2020-12-09 12:29:37, OnAir> Address: 81.174.138.141
2020-12-09 12:29:37, OnAir> Port: 50199
2020-12-09 12:29:37, OnAir> XML: <?xml version="1.0"?>

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1272
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

#2

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

The OnAir server at 81.174.138.141 can't connect to your server 72.75.225.32 port 50101 so this is Firewall / routing.

You've got to forward port 50101 to the computer where the server runs and make sure the Firewall allows incoming connections.

Possibly your ISP doesn't allow port 50101?
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

kb2fx
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 2:10 pm

Re: SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

#3

Unread post by kb2fx »

Noted. However, it is interesting that full connectivity/operation is achieved by the SDR client from my home location accessing the exact same IP address and port.
I cannot determine why two different sources would make a difference, but will re-check network configurations.
Thanks.

User avatar
KA1GJU
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 2:16 pm

Re: SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

#4

Unread post by KA1GJU »

Mike,
What will happen when your ISP changes your public IP address? Have you given any thought to using one of the free DNS services? I use https://freedns.afraid.org/ for home and the clubhouse SDR servers. Both are on the same ISP (fiber optic to inside of building), with the exact same routers, so setting up SDR's and remote Icom radios is a snap! Our ISP charges outlandish fees for a static IP, so I go with the above. I just have to 'log' into their website once every several months to keep our service alive. They send an email to remind me.

Keep trying, we need more servers that ACTUALLY work. Many on the list say they are OK, but once you build a definition and attempt to connect afterwards... you only find out that the server is NOT ok. :roll: :x As in last week when I was trying to get a fix on a 75M pirate station 3935kHz LSB, turns out it was over near Simon, not in the USA!

73 Kriss KA1GJU

kb2fx
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 09, 2020 2:10 pm

Re: SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

#5

Unread post by kb2fx »

IP address is static and port 50101 is verified as open. I must not understand completely how the sdrspace.com website is verifying the On-air service. As I read it, sdrspace gets the message from the On-air server that it exists via a message from the service to sdrserver (ip 81.174.138.141 port 50199). Once sdrserver receives this message, it connects to the server via port 50101 to verify an active connection and annunciates the result on the web page.

BUT, on my operable system, if I have On-air running and block port 50101, the web page reports everything as normal yet I cannot connect with Console.

On my system with the difficulty, with the IP/port open, Console - Server operates normally. When I enable On-Air server, sdrserver reports the existence but with the 10 second timeout error message. According to the SDR Space error section :"If the On-Air service cannot connect then the console will not be able to connect. "

This is in conflict with what am observing: sdrspace is reporting cannot connect/10 second timeout, yet I can connect remotely with Console all day long.

User avatar
PD3LK
Posts: 235
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 10:36 am

Re: SDR Server Not being recognized by SDR Space V3

#6

Unread post by PD3LK »

kb2fx wrote:
Thu Dec 10, 2020 8:13 pm
Noted. However, it is interesting that full connectivity/operation is achieved by the SDR client from my home location accessing the exact same IP address and port.
I cannot determine why two different sources would make a difference, but will re-check network configurations.
Thanks.
Because WAN connections goes thru the router firewall, LAN connections do not. So you have to set port forwarding in your router.

Post Reply