Page 1 of 1

ftdx as external radio..or not as in this case!

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 5:58 pm
by Mag loop Simon
Hello again...

got rid of the ftdx1200 and now have a ftdx3000..lovely rig..

trying to get it to work with sdrc as external radio.
no hope..(except for once yesterday, and i have NO idea how!!)

using serial to usb to pc.pc sees it and says all good..(worked yesterday.)
omnirig set up on same com port (com 4.) as pc sees it.
omnirig and ftdx set at same baud rate. (38400) as is pc.
cat rts on ftdx set on.(tried off .same no go.)
cat select on ftdx set to rs232..(as using serial to usb.)

cat does NOT show up on elad sdr display.(does when working.as in yesterday..)
tried switching on rigs before and after starting sdrc..etc..no effect..

followed sdrc web page to the letter.

all i get is ftdx3000 is not respomding in the external radio window..OR gives me port is busy..screenshot is of not responding..

just to add tried every option in ftdx cat menu..many times..

been at this now for HOURS!!..tried everything my limited knowledge allows.
please anyone HELP!!!...

thank you mag loop simon

Re: ftdx as external radio..or not as in this case!

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 6:49 pm
by jdow
What is your overall hookup? SDRC will not directly control anything other than a TS2000. You should have something like OmniRig in your setup to use some other protocol. Others may chime in here with more information.

Have you visited "https://www.sdr-radio.com/external-radio"?
{^_^}

Re: ftdx as external radio..or not as in this case!

Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:10 pm
by Mag loop Simon
update..

checked on elad duo..baud rate had changed!
put all to 9600..now sdrc says ftdx3000 online..except it is not..no tracking..no antenna selected etc..PLUS it only shows part of fequency..see screenshot..
PLUS elad duo goes into tx and will not switch out of..

really confued now..

thanks

Re: ftdx as external radio..or not as in this case!

Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2020 10:57 pm
by Mag loop Simon
Update..

Sorted it..

It appears that one has to remove the cat cable from the sdr ( elad duo.)
Its not activated by the software as far as i could see, but removed and ftdx starts playing ball..

Mag loop simon

Re: ftdx as external radio..or not as in this case!

Posted: Sun Nov 01, 2020 1:58 pm
by Simon G4ELI
jdow wrote:
Sun Oct 25, 2020 6:49 pm
What is your overall hookup? SDRC will not directly control anything other than a TS2000. You should have something like OmniRig in your setup to use some other protocol. Others may chime in here with more information.

Have you visited "https://www.sdr-radio.com/external-radio"?
{^_^}
That's when talking to Console, not when Console talks to a radio.

Re: ftdx as external radio..or not as in this case!

Posted: Fri Dec 04, 2020 1:38 am
by danhamFLH
Hello Folks, Took me a while to get my Yaesu FT2K to work on Console with Omni Rig. Had to set up OmniRig as FT-3000 and works fine:) I also use with Ken TS2K and its works as it should. Go figure ?? 73 Dan W9JFM