FT8 on QO-100 with Adalm Pluto impossible

F8DQL
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2022 2:27 pm

FT8 on QO-100 with Adalm Pluto impossible

#1

Unread post by F8DQL »

Hello,
I am trying to do FT8 on QO-100 with an Adalm Pluto SDR, on a 90 cm dish with a Othernet Bullseye LNB which is pretty stable
My Pluto has a GPSDO clock and I use the Geostationary Beacon feature, there is no drift at all.
A virtual audio cable makes the link between WSJT-X and SDR Console V3.2 build 2731.

The waterfall looks good and so does the audio in SDR Console :
Image

WSJT-X seems to get the audio correctly :
Image

However it decodes absolutely nothing.
The same configuration (wsjt-x and virtual audio cable) with a websdr instead of SDR Console works fine, the issue is consequently in my RX chain.
Do you have any idea?
73

G0SYP
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2022 2:16 pm

Re: FT8 on QO-100 with Adalm Pluto impossible

#2

Unread post by G0SYP »

You can't see it very well in the screenshot but there may be some drift after all. If you set "N Avg 1" (normally it's N Avg 4 or 5) in the waterfall, you can see it better.

jdow
Posts: 612
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:17 pm

Re: FT8 on QO-100 with Adalm Pluto impossible

#3

Unread post by jdow »

Even small temperature variations can be killers for some modes at 10 GHz.
{o.o}

dg9bfc_sigi
Posts: 139
Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2020 10:43 am

Re: FT8 on QO-100 with Adalm Pluto impossible

#4

Unread post by dg9bfc_sigi »

ft4 and ft8 run fine here with my tcxo driven pluto and a tcxo driven lnb (plus beacon lock)
dg9bfc sigi

Post Reply