2021 is dedicated to the user - adding all the features an advanced user needs.

CAT control external radio (VFO A/B)

🙋 If you want a new feature or a change to the software then add your request here.

If it's not here then it's not going to happen.
oe3ide
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:56 am

CAT control external radio (VFO A/B)

#1

Unread post by oe3ide »

Hello,

here the thread from groups.io https://sdr-radio.groups.io/g/main/topic/71220916

I now made a small video, to show how SDR Console picks up the frequency from the external radio (FT-2000 via Omnirig):
https://www.oe3ide.com/wordp/wp-content ... mnirig.m4v

What to see in the video:
DX-Station on 14.240 (example), working 5-10 up. First tune VFO A to 14.240, then copy A->B and activate TX on VFO B. As soon as I move VFO B from 14.245 to 14.250, SDRConsole "takes" this frequency, if I tune again VFO A (the rx-freq) it takes this frequency.
Omnirig-Client:
https://www.oe3ide.com/wordp/wp-content ... client.mp4

As I use SDRConsole as RX-frontend, working a DX in split-mode is a bit odd, everytime you try to change your tx-Freq you loose the RX-frequency...


Maybe its only a configuration setting, but I found nothing...

Thanks!
73s Ernst

oe3ide
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:56 am

Re: CAT control external radio (VFO A/B)

#2

Unread post by oe3ide »

Any solutions on that?

yo7fws
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:19 pm
Location: Slatina
Contact:

Re: CAT control external radio (VFO A/B)

#3

Unread post by yo7fws »

Hi Ernst,
In the External Radio Options window you have two settings, 1 and 2 in my image. The first setting drive the transceiver and the second interrogates the transceiver. Personally, I think setting 2 should be unchecked.
Another solution, I'm not sure, during split work you can disconnect External Radio from the Track.
Success!
Constantin YO7FWS
Clipboard01.jpg

oe3ide
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 11:56 am

Re: CAT control external radio (VFO A/B)

#4

Unread post by oe3ide »

Hi Constantin,
I tried that out. This does not change the behavior. The "problem" is in the omnirig-implementation in SDRConsole (at least I think so ,-)
I have written some tools, which are working with Omnirig (and SunSDR TCI).
And I had also some messed up frequencies in the beginning. There are FreqA, FreqB and Freq. And also RXFreq and TXFreq...OmniRig is vy old and sometimes a bit strange.. but it is possible to read the correct frequency, I have done that in a small tool for my good friend Andrea, 9H1TT, he is using this tool to show the correct values in his live-stream.

Because if the radio is switched into Split, the frequency from VFO B becomes the TXFreq.. and this is sent to (or taken from) SDR Console as "main freq". Thatswhy the frequency in SDRConsol jumps to that frequency.
Luckily there are not too much DX-Stations on air, which working split.

I made a small video, showing:
1) Tune FT-2000 to 14.263
2) pressing A=>B on FT-2000
3) activate split on FT-2000
4) tuning around with VFO B (TX)
You can see, the values are correct in my tool, but SDRConsole takes the frq from VFO A, if A is tuned and VFO B, if B is tuned..

https://www.oe3ide.com/wordp/wp-content ... nirig1.mp4

73 de Ernst
OE3IDE

yo7fws
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Nov 21, 2020 3:19 pm
Location: Slatina
Contact:

Re: CAT control external radio (VFO A/B)

#5

Unread post by yo7fws »

Hi Ernst,
You're right, I saw it in the video.

As I use SDRConsole as RX-frontend, working a DX in split-mode is a bit odd, everytime you try to change your tx-Freq you loose the RX-frequency...

Fast solution is to stop tracking External Radio when you working in Split Mode. Then you can use them separately without being influenced. Probably not the best solution.
The software solution would be, in Split Mode, only RX VFO must drive SDR.

Sorry, Google translate here!

73!
Constantin

Post Reply