Version 3.1 was released on Monday, August 2nd 2021. Now back to user requests.

Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

Also known as ADALM-PLUTO.
s53k
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:28 pm
Location: All Over The World

Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#1

Unread post by s53k »

hi,

I have DIGITUS gigabit/USB3.0 adapter but I can not connect Pluto via USB to ETH... USB connection with Pluto works ok.
I try like on this video :

Pluto is visible by IP on local LAN ok.

Any idea ?

tnx info...
73 Simon S53K

jdow
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:17 pm

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#2

Unread post by jdow »

Pluto is USB 2.0. So Ethernet may not be any sort of speed advantage. What does the video have to do with your problem? I wasted time watching it.

Have you created a separate definition for the LAN Pluto? If not, of course it won't run.

{^_^}

s53k
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:28 pm
Location: All Over The World

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#3

Unread post by s53k »

You asked me, as Im a beginner ? I never ask for the help before Im trying all what user manual explain ... So I read RTFM, before I asked ... 8-)
All looks ok but no LAN connection at all ....
Any idea,

tnx & GL
Attachments
ip.png
73 Simon S53K

Jerry Newsome
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2020 3:35 pm

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#4

Unread post by Jerry Newsome »

Look at the IP addresses
the one on the top is on 192.168.2.1 Network
with a IP address on that network of 192.168.2.10

the one on the bottom is on a different Network
THE IP address on the bottom would be in a192.168.0.1 network.

see if you can get the USB_Ethernet configured on the 192.168.2.1 network
with a IP address on that network like 192.168.2.40

s53k
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:28 pm
Location: All Over The World

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#5

Unread post by s53k »

hi Jerry,

I attached print screens from SDR Console (error), pluto config file and IP scanner from my local network. I see Pluto with both IPs on local network, but you can see an error ..
I dont know what does it mean usb_ethernet_mode=0 ...

Any idea ?
tnx
pluto_local_lan.jpg
pluto_conf.jpg
SDR_progy.jpg
73 Simon S53K

M0TGC
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:49 pm
Location: East Devon

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#6

Unread post by M0TGC »

Hi,

I am running Pluto over an Ethernet connection. My pc ip address is 192.168.1.50 and is connected to my router via an ethernet hub and the Pluto is connected to the same hub.

My config.txt file is pasted below, note that the ipaddr in the [NETWORK] section is not relevant because the connection is ethernet and so the [USB_ETHERNET] section is used.

<<<
# Analog Devices PlutoSDR Rev.B (Z7010-AD9363)
# Device Configuration File
# 1. Open with an Editor
# 2. Edit this file
# 3. Save this file on the device USB drive
# 4. Eject the device USB Drive
# Doc: https://wiki.analog.com/university/tool ... ustomizing

[NETWORK]
hostname = pluto
ipaddr = 192.168.2.1
ipaddr_host = 192.168.2.10
netmask = 255.255.255.0

[WLAN]
ssid_wlan =
pwd_wlan =
ipaddr_wlan =

[USB_ETHERNET]
ipaddr_eth = 192.168.1.60
netmask_eth = 255.255.255.0

[SYSTEM]
xo_correction =
udc_handle_suspend = 0

[ACTIONS]
diagnostic_report = 0
dfu = 0
reset = 0
calibrate = 0
>>>

My radio definition is
radio_def.png
I would try deleting the "usb_ethernet_mode = 0" line.

Presumably when you ping the Pluto ip address from your pc you get a response?
David M0TGC

s53k
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:28 pm
Location: All Over The World

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#7

Unread post by s53k »

hi David,

As you can see, we have almost the same settings, ok ip numbers are not, but ok ... Interesting, but I can not ping Pluto IP true the local LAN network, but as picture from IP scanner show IP just prfect also is it visible direct on Linksys router on Device list.... Sick but it is true ...hi
Pic:
pingu.png
linksys.png
GL
73 Simon S53K

M0TGC
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2020 7:49 pm
Location: East Devon

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#8

Unread post by M0TGC »

If you cannot ping the Pluto from the PC running SDRC then that is probably the problem. Certainly the first thing to sort.
David M0TGC

s53k
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2021 7:28 pm
Location: All Over The World

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#9

Unread post by s53k »

you can, yours ? ... Pluto is on the LAN, as you can see ... Why ping does not work, I dont know yet.
I hope that USB_ETH which is USB3 device and USB2 on Pluto does not a problem ... ... ...

Will see soon :)
73 Simon S53K

jdow
Posts: 444
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2020 8:17 pm

Re: Pluto, SDR C.3.1xx & USB_LAN connection

#10

Unread post by jdow »

USB Ethernet device

That name leaves me thinking. Does it appear as a new device in your "Network & Settings" section of "Settings?" Do you have "Private" ticked for the network type?

Have you given it it's own network IPV4 address? Is that distinct from your other networks?
Supposing you have two networks. One is from your ISP and is perhaps 192.168.0.1. The numbers in red are significant. And I believe that is what you are using at your home. The network you setup for the USB to Ethernet can use 192.168 as the first two numbers and any number from 0 to 255 inclusive, 0..255, that is DIFFERENT from the third number in your ISP's setting. Suppose the ISP network is 192.168.1.X (the value of X does not matter) then you can use 0 or any number from 2 through 255 inclusive for the second number of your new network. This keeps everything cool with networking not confused. Then you give your machine and the Pluto different fourth digit addresses in the range 1..254. Suppose you selected 192.168.120.1 for your machine in settings and want Pluto at 192.168.120.100.

Then setup the Pluto configuration with numbers derived from the above. What you have set can never work.
[NETWORK]
hostname = pluto
ipaddr = 192.168.2.1
ipaddr_host = 192.168.2.10
netmask = 255.255.255.0

[WLAN]
ssid_wlan =
pwd_wlan =
ipaddr_wlan =

[USB_ETHERNET]
ipaddr_eth = 192.168.1.60
netmask_eth = 255.255.255.0
Instead, for "ipaddr" use the address you selected above for the Pluto, 192.168.120.1. For the "ipaddr_eth" use the first three numbers followed by ".0", for example 192.168.120.0. That format is called the "network address" and means all devices that communicate on that little piece of network have addresses of 192.168.120.X with X being in the range 0..254.

(I hope that is clear enough to get you working and not insulting.)

{^_^}

Post Reply