External radio RIT help.

G5TV
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 pm

External radio RIT help.

#1

Unread post by G5TV »

Hi all,
I'm running SDR console with a sdrplay duo, omnirig and a ic9700. In using the ic9700 on satellite mode and I have everything synced up except RIT. I have selected rit in external radio settings but it never shows on the external radio readout. Turning rit on the radio doesn't do anything either.
Anyone else had this and I wonder if anyone knows a solution?
Regards Brent G5TV

G5TV
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: External radio RIT help.

#2

Unread post by G5TV »

Still struggling with this issue. 😞

Max
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:47 am

Re: External radio RIT help.

#3

Unread post by Max »

G5TV wrote: Wed Dec 06, 2023 10:15 pm Hi all,
I'm running SDR console with a sdrplay duo, omnirig and a ic9700. In using the ic9700 on satellite mode and I have everything synced up except RIT. I have selected rit in external radio settings but it never shows on the external radio readout. Turning rit on the radio doesn't do anything either.
Anyone else had this and I wonder if anyone knows a solution?
Regards Brent G5TV
Brent, sorry no external radio here so I may not be much help, but which version of SDR Console are you using. I always recommend to use the latest Beta. It's always very stable before Simon publishes as it's been thoroughly tested by the Test Team. It can therefore be treated pretty much as full release version and often solves issues which Simon has worked on since the main release version:

https://www.sdr-radio.com/download#Beta

If this does not solve it or you are already running it then please post screenshot of the problem configuration by using the SDRC screenshot tool. Please do not crop or edit the screenshot (other than to annotate it if necessary):

https://www.sdr-radio.com/screenshot

This often helps with diagnosis. Also please describe how you are using SDRC. Is it split input (i.e. antenna goes to the RSP Duo) or does IF output from the 9700 feed the RSP?

73

Max

G5TV
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: External radio RIT help.

#4

Unread post by G5TV »

Screenshot-2023-12-18-192912.jpeg

G5TV
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: External radio RIT help.

#5

Unread post by G5TV »

Max wrote: Sat Dec 16, 2023 10:20 pm
G5TV wrote: Wed Dec 06, 2023 10:15 pm Hi all,
I'm running SDR console with a sdrplay duo, omnirig and a ic9700. In using the ic9700 on satellite mode and I have everything synced up except RIT. I have selected rit in external radio settings but it never shows on the external radio readout. Turning rit on the radio doesn't do anything either.
Anyone else had this and I wonder if anyone knows a solution?
Regards Brent G5TV
Brent, sorry no external radio here so I may not be much help, but which version of SDR Console are you using. I always recommend to use the latest Beta. It's always very stable before Simon publishes as it's been thoroughly tested by the Test Team. It can therefore be treated pretty much as full release version and often solves issues which Simon has worked on since the main release version:

https://www.sdr-radio.com/download#Beta

If this does not solve it or you are already running it then please post screenshot of the problem configuration by using the SDRC screenshot tool. Please do not crop or edit the screenshot (other than to annotate it if necessary):

https://www.sdr-radio.com/screenshot

This often helps with diagnosis. Also please describe how you are using SDRC. Is it split input (i.e. antenna goes to the RSP Duo) or does IF output from the 9700 feed the RSP?

73

Max
Hi Max
I split the signal from the down converter and feed the 9700 and sdr play duo everything works except rit when i adjust the rit on the 9700 nothing changes on console.
Screenshot-2023-12-18-192912 rit.jpeg
Screenshot-2023-12-18-192912 rit.jpeg (77.16 KiB) Viewed 1034 times

G5TV
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: External radio RIT help.

#6

Unread post by G5TV »

Screenshot-2023-12-18-192639.jpeg
Screenshot-2023-12-18-192639.jpeg (151.15 KiB) Viewed 1033 times

Max
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:47 am

Re: External radio RIT help.

#7

Unread post by Max »

G5TV wrote: Mon Dec 18, 2023 7:46 pm Hi Max
I split the signal from the down converter and feed the 9700 and sdr play duo everything works except rit when i adjust the rit on the 9700 nothing changes on console.
Screenshot-2023-12-18-192912 rit.jpeg
Hi again Brent

Googling I see a few people saying RIT is problematic on the 9700. I wonder if you have tried the 9700 ini file for Omnirig from this site which seems to be modified to make RIT work with SDRC? Don't use the modified version of Omnirig however. You need to stay with the official version from DX Atlas:

https://www.hb9ryz.ch/omnirig/

Be interested if this helps at all? Although now I look again it mentions ini does not work with IC-9700 in Sat Mode? It might be worth contacting HB9RYZ about this to see if he can help?

Maybe test both with and without sat mode to first establish if RIT works in "normal" mode?

73

Max

G5TV
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 pm

Re: External radio RIT help.

#8

Unread post by G5TV »

Hi Max,
Had a good couple of hours at this today and finally got the rit working in sat mode on the ic 9700 using the ini file from HB9RCY site, thanks to DL3HM also for the rit friendly file.
https://www.hb9ryz.ch/downloads/ic-9700-data-rit.ini
if you copy the text into note pad and save it (IC-9700-rit.ini) then put the file into the rig folder and restart the pc, it will be in the omnirig list mine was right at the bottom not in alphabetical order.
Regards Brent G5TV

Max
Posts: 836
Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2020 9:47 am

Re: External radio RIT help.

#9

Unread post by Max »

G5TV wrote: Tue Dec 19, 2023 9:11 pm Hi Max,
Had a good couple of hours at this today and finally got the rit working in sat mode on the ic 9700 using the ini file from HB9RCY site, thanks to DL3HM also for the rit friendly file.
https://www.hb9ryz.ch/downloads/ic-9700-data-rit.ini
if you copy the text into note pad and save it (IC-9700-rit.ini) then put the file into the rig folder and restart the pc, it will be in the omnirig list mine was right at the bottom not in alphabetical order.
Regards Brent G5TV
Great news. Glad it helped. Hopefully having reported back this may also help others with the same issue. I am pretty sure I have read of a few RIT issues on here with other Icom rigs so presumably same may apply and the ini file could be inspected and other rig ini files edited to help them out too. Anyway, thanks for coming back with the result. Always helpful for the "knowledge bank".

73

Max

Post Reply