2021 is dedicated to the user - adding all the features an advanced user needs.

Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

Moderator: NN4F

W6UV
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:46 pm

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

#11

Unread post by W6UV »

Here's a screenshot of the whole 6 MHz. Setting the S2's BW to 6 MHZ works, but everything is noisier than when it's set to 1.5 MHz.

@Paul: Yes, this also happens with FDM-SW2.
Attachments
Screenshot-2020-10-05-094431.png

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

#12

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

W6UV wrote:
Mon Oct 05, 2020 6:08 pm
Here's a screenshot of the whole 6 MHz. Setting the S2's BW to 6 MHZ works, but everything is noisier than when it's set to 1.5 MHz.

@Paul: Yes, this also happens with FDM-SW2.
I think your problem is the *very* strong MW signals. To receive properly above 2MHz you may need a HPF.

Please adjust the display so the peaks of the strongest signals are visible, at present they are cut off.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

#13

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

Also,

A difference between the 6MHz and 1.5MHz bandwidths will be ~12dB less dynamic range with 6MHz compared with 1.5MHz. This may be the problem - those MW signals appear to cause you some serious problems.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

KarapuZ
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

#14

Unread post by KarapuZ »

So, I have a similar problem when increasing the bandwidth of the Elad S2 over 768 kHz. The problem manifested itself on the new ASUS ROG Strix G GL731GT-H7118T notebook (Windows 10 Home). In addition to the Console, the problem is also in the HDSDR programs and in the native program from Elad. It seems to me that this is not an overload of the ADC, since on my old Lenovo laptop a similar configuration of the receive path works correctly in all available bandwidths of this receiver.

Danila.

User avatar
Simon G4ELI
Posts: 1432
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2020 7:27 am
Location: Mawnan Smith
Contact:

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

#15

Unread post by Simon G4ELI »

Use a different USB port. Switch on the PSU.
Simon Brown :shock:
www.sdr-radio.com

Do not send me direct e-mail, thank-you!

KarapuZ
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2020 9:46 pm

Re: Bandwidth Issues on FDM-S2

#16

Unread post by KarapuZ »

Unfortunately, changing the USB ports, as well as supplying additional power through the USB hub did not solve the problem.

Post Reply